DIY Sharpies dishware

I saw all these ornate Sharpie cups on Pinterest recently and thought how hard can it be? And would the Sharpie wash off? The answer is it isn’t hard and it will stay if you handwash them.

Project difficulty: 3

Start off with a plate (or whatever you desire to make). I got this Dollarstore plate for $2.50 CAD. And oil based Sharpie. I read quite a few blogs and they all say to use oil based.

Then start your design. If you make a mistake, you can use alcohol to whip off the Sharpie. I used nail polish remover and it worked.

Once you are done with your design, let the paint set overnight. Then put it in the oven at 350 F and leave it in for about 30 minutes.

I made a mistake of taking it out of the oven right after when it was done baking. The oven glove smudged the paint off as the paint has not set. I was lucky I was able to fix the smudges. And there you have it, your own decorative plate.

One thought on “DIY Sharpies dishware

Comments are closed.